



Distr.: General 2 December 2014

Original: English

Sixty-ninth session Agenda items 102 and 123 (v)

Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty

Cooperation between the United Nations and regional and other organizations: cooperation between the United Nations and the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization

Letter dated 31 October 2014 from the Permanent Representatives of Australia and Japan to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

On behalf of Australia, Canada, Finland, Germany, Japan and the Netherlands, we have the honour to forward to you the Joint Ministerial Statement on the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, which was launched on 26 September 2014 in New York (see annex). It is our pleasure to inform you that, as at 31 October 2014, 104 States have associated themselves with the Joint Statement. We would be grateful if you would have the present letter and its annex circulated as a document of the General Assembly, under agenda items 102 and 123 (v).

(Signed) Gary Francis **Quinlan** Permanent Representative of Australia to the United Nations

(Signed) Motohide Yoshikawa Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations



14-66111 (E) 101214

Annex to the letter dated 31 October 2014 from the Permanent Representatives of Australia and Japan to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

Joint Ministerial Statement on the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty

1. We, the Foreign Ministers issuing this statement, reaffirm our commitment to the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty as a core element of the international nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation regime.

2. Recalling the 2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, we express, in the strongest terms, our support for the prompt entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty. This would rid the world of nuclear explosions and contribute to the elimination of nuclear weapons by constraining their development and qualitative improvement.

3. We welcome the fact that the Treaty has achieved near universal adherence with signature by 183 States and ratification by 163 States as of today. We also welcome the ratification of the Treaty by Brunei Darussalam, Chad, Guinea-Bissau, Iraq, Niue and the Republic of the Congo since our last meeting, on 27 September 2012.

4. Almost 20 years have passed since the Treaty was opened for signature. Although the Treaty has yet to come into force, the nuclear test moratorium has become a de facto international norm. However, without the lasting and legallybinding effect of entry into force of the Treaty, such a norm remains fragile. We therefore urge all States that have not done so to sign and ratify the Treaty, in particular the remaining eight Annex 2 States to sign and ratify without delay.^a

5. We fully support the Article XIV process reinforced by the various initiatives based on the action plan proposed by Hungary and Indonesia and remain committed to the declarations issued at Article XIV Conferences. The Group of Eminent Persons will assist this process.

6. We call upon all States to continue the moratorium on nuclear weapon test explosions and refrain from any action that would undermine the Treaty's object and purpose.

7. Only the Democratic People's Republic of Korea has acted contrary to this moratorium in the twenty-first century. We recall international condemnation of its nuclear tests in 2006, 2009 and 2013 and demand that it refrain from further tests. We urge the Democratic People's Republic of Korea to fully comply with its international obligations under the relevant Security Council resolutions and its commitments under the 2005 Joint Statement of the Six-Party Talks.

8. We welcome advances made by the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization in strengthening the Treaty's verification regime. The credibility of the verification regime is being increasingly recognized by members of the scientific community, including in States that have

^a There are eight remaining Annex 2 States, whose ratifications are necessary for entry into force: China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Pakistan and United States of America.

yet to ratify the Treaty. We welcome the fact that China has started sending its International Monitoring System data to the International Data Centre. We reaffirm our commitment to support the completion of the verification regime and urge all States signatories to do likewise.

9. While bearing in mind the Treaty's primary objective regarding nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament, we are encouraged by the fact that the International Monitoring System and the International Data Centre have also demonstrated their utility in providing accurate real-time data relating to major earthquakes, tsunamis and nuclear accidents, as well as other civil scientific applications to all States signatories. We reiterate the importance of the capacity-building activities relating to national data centres.

10. We stress the importance of Integrated Field Exercise 14, to be held in Jordan in November 2014, which will raise awareness of the Treaty and demonstrate the Organization's progress in developing onsite inspection capabilities.

11. We appeal to all States to make the utmost effort to achieve the prompt entry into force of the Treaty. We dedicate ourselves individually and jointly to realizing this goal and to continuing to raise awareness of this matter at the highest political level as well as at the experts' level.

Attachment

States signatories associating themselves with the Joint Ministerial Statement

- 1. Afghanistan
- 2. Albania
- 3. Andorra
- 4. Argentina
- 5. Armenia
- 6. Australia
- 7. Austria
- 8. Bangladesh
- 9. Belarus
- 10. Belgium
- 11. Botswana
- 12. Brazil
- 13. Brunei Darussalam
- 14. Bulgaria
- 15. Burkina Faso
- 16. Cambodia
- 17. Canada
- 18. Chile
- 19. China
- 20. Costa Rica
- 21. Côte d'Ivoire
- 22. Croatia
- 23. Cyprus
- 24. Czech Republic
- 25. Denmark
- 26. Djibouti
- 27. Dominican Republic
- 28. Ecuador
- 29. El Salvador
- 30. Estonia
- 31. Finland
- 32. France
- 33. Georgia
- 34. Germany
- 35. Ghana
- 36. Greece
- 37. Guatemala
- 38. Holy See
- 39. Honduras
- 40. Hungary
- 41. Iceland
- 42. Indonesia
- 43. Iraq
- 44. Ireland
- 45. Italy
- 46. Jamaica

- 47. Japan
- 48. Jordan
- 49. Kazakhstan
- 50. Kenya
- 51. Kyrgyzstan
- 52. Latvia
- 53. Libya
- 54. Liechtenstein
- 55. Lithuania
- 56. Luxembourg
- 57. Madagascar
- 58. Malaysia
- 59. Mali
- 60. Malta
- 61. Marshall Islands
- 62. Micronesia, Federated States of
- 63. Monaco
- 64. Mongolia
- 65. Montenegro
- 66. Morocco
- 67. Myanmar
- 68. Namibia
- 69. Netherlands
- 70. New Zealand
- 71. Nigeria
- 72. Norway
- 73. Oman
- 74. Paraguay
- 75. Peru
- 76. Philippines
- 77. Poland
- 78. Portugal
- 79. Republic of Korea
- 80. Republic of Moldova
- 81. Romania
- 82. Russian Federation
- 83. Samoa
- 84. San Marino
- 85. Senegal
- 86. Serbia
- 87. Singapore
- 88. Slovakia
- 89. Slovenia
- 90. South Africa
- 91. Spain
- 92. Sri Lanka

- 93. Sweden
- 94. Thailand
- 95. The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
- 96. Timor-Leste
- 97. Turkey
- 98. Ukraine

- 99. United Arab Emirates
- 100. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 101. United States of America
- 102. Vanuatu
- 103. Viet Nam
- 104. Yemen