

Distr.: General 7 February 2012

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2012 26 and 27 April 2012 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 10 members of the Committee for the United Nations Population Award

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Committee for the United Nations Population Award is composed of 10 members elected from among States Members of the United Nations with due regard to equitable geographical representation and the need to include those Member States that have made contributions towards the Award.

2. Pursuant to article 4 of the regulations governing the Award contained in the annex to General Assembly resolution 36/201 of 17 December 1981, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2012, the 10 members of the Committee for the United Nations Population Award for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013.

3. In accordance with an agreement reached by the Council in 1982 (see E/1982/SR.54 and 58), the 10 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

- (a) Three members from African States;
- (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) One member from Eastern European States;
- (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) One member from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Committee is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Committee for the United Nations Population Award^a (10 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2012

Three members from African States

Egypt, Ghana, United Republic of Tanzania

Two members from Asia-Pacific States^a

Bangladesh, Malaysia

One member from Eastern European States

Czech Republic

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States^a

Guatemala, Jamaica, Nicaragua

One member from Western European and other States

Norway

^a One seat to rotate between Asia-Pacific States and Latin American and Caribbean States every three years. The rotating seat was allocated to Latin American and Caribbean States in 2009 for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2010. In 2012, the rotating seat will be allocated to Asia-Pacific States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013, thus giving Asia-Pacific States three seats and Latin American and Caribbean States two seats.