

Distr.: General 18 May 2005

Original: English

Letter dated 17 May 2005 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 1596 (2005) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo. In paragraph 21 of the resolution, the Council requested me to re-establish, in consultation with the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1533 (2004) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo, for a period expiring 31 July 2005, the Group of Experts referred to in paragraph 10 of resolution 1533, with the addition of a fifth expert having the necessary skills to perform the mandate, as set out in the same paragraph.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that, taking into account the requirements stated in resolution 1596 (2005), I have appointed the following five experts:

- 1. Mr. Ibra Deguène Ka (Senegal, Chairman)
- 2. Ms. Kathi Lynn Austin (United States of America, arms trafficking expert)
- 3. Mr. Enrico Carisch (Switzerland, finance expert)
- 4. Mr. Abdoulaye Cissoko (Mali, aviation expert)
- 5. Mr. Jean Luc Gallet (France, customs and border control expert)

I have also selected Mr. Ka to chair the Group of Experts.

I should be grateful if you would bring this information to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) Kofi A. Annan

05-34872 (E) 180505 * **0534872***