

Distr.: General 27 July 2012

Original: English

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

Note verbale dated 23 July 2012 from the Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations addressed to the Chair of the Committee

The Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Chair of the Security Council Committee pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012), whose paragraph 10 requires all Member States to report to the Committee within 120 days of the adoption of that resolution on the steps they have taken towards the implementation of its paragraph 4.

Germany wishes to take this opportunity to present to the Security Council the measures that have been put into effect by the European Union to implement resolution 2048 (2012) (see annex).





Annex to the note verbale dated 23 July 2012 from the Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations addressed to the Chair of the Committee

Report of Germany to the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

Measures implemented by the European Union

Paragraph 4 of resolution 2048 (2012):

Decides that all Member States shall take the necessary measures to prevent the entry into or transit through their territories of individuals listed in the annex of this resolution or designated by the Committee established pursuant to paragraph 9 below, provided that nothing in this paragraph shall oblige a State to refuse its own nationals entry into its territory;

The Council of the European Union adopted Council decision 2012/237/CFSP of 3 May 2012 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau.

Article 1 of Council decision 2012/237/CFSP states that:

1. Member States shall take the necessary measures to prevent the entry into, or transit through, their territories of persons engaging in or providing support for acts that threaten the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau and persons associated with them, as listed in the Annex.

According to article 29 of the Treaty on European Union, Council decisions are binding law in Germany.

In the case of travel restrictions, decisions of the European Union are implemented by means of national visa regimes. In Germany, the Federal Foreign Office is responsible for the implementation of visa restrictions.

As Guinea-Bissau nationals need a visa to enter Germany, listed individuals will be refused entry to the European Union in general and to Germany in particular. In addition, the five listed individuals will be refused entry to Germany by the Federal Police using the border search database.

The five individuals listed in the annex of resolution 2048 are thus subject to the requested sanctions.

With Council regulation (EU) No. 377/2012 of 3 May 2012 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, as well as Council implementing regulation (EU) No. 458/2012 of 31 May 2012 implementing article 11(1) of regulation (EU) No. 377/2012 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, the European Union imposed asset freezes on 21 individuals, including the five individuals listed in the annex of resolution 2048.

The European Union's restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau now include 6 individuals subject to travel restrictions and 21 individuals subject to financial sanctions.